Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No doubt that following rules and regulations plays a significant role in people's live as individuals as well as part of societies. However, I strongly agree that expectations of the society for the young people to follow and obey those rules are too strict.

To begin, I would say that in the society in order to move forward and keep the place in peace, there should be rules and laws that young people need to follow, as well as the other people that are not in young ages.Nevertheless, some of those rules are highly strict and make youth people feel so stressful and hopeless that they can achieve their goals they have in their lives. For example, my son is in middle school, and the school's regulations and expectations are strict enough to make him not to go to school. During the lunch they have only 15 minutes to eat, and that is not enough time for everyone to finish the food. that is because some of the students are slow eater. And their rule is when the lunch teacher will say the time is up they are not allowed to take their last bite. if they do it would consider a disrespect for that lady and the student will be punished. they will keep him in detention. this is an example what they did with my son last week. He felt so frustrated and the next day did not want to go to school.

In addition, young people have the right to enjoy their own live while they are still young and in good shape. The society has to judge them less and support more. I say this, because in some countries there are still societies that will judge the young people about what they doing or where they go. For instance, in my country which is North Macedonia, if you are young and wants to have a girlfriend, they will think and say that you are a bad boy and immoral because you are still young to date someone. And this makes the live difficult because somehow their expectations are that you live your live in the way they want. that happened to me when I was eighteen and dated my husband. they were speculating all kind of thing for us, and it made us to leave the state. so, we moved in Albania for couple years and then finally moved in USA. where we found peace enough to live a normal live.

To sum up, I would say that rules and regulations are good for a society, because it keeps everyone in track, but there should be some expectations for the young people, because they can get hurt emotionally and psychologically easily.