Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Making children ready to become adults is a crucial duty for parents. Parents should not only satisfy their children’s needs but they should also prepare them for the future. Although many believe that a part-time job could be an astonishing option for maturity preparation, as far as I am concerned, it is not a suitable plan.

The first reason for my belief is the time children could spend learning what they want or developing the ability that is necessary for their future is used by a job which is neither permanent nor useful. For example, when I was a teenager, I was eager to work at a coffee shop as a barista. I could not get the job even though I found the position, because my father disagreed with my plan. His reason was, at that moment, I had to study and learn English instead of working, which turned out to be a good decision since I had enough time to study, so I enrolled in the university that I dreamed about.

Secondly, all part-time jobs are temporary and do not have the potential to guide children in their lives. Most of the part-time jobs are waiter or cashier opportunities, which do not require any specific capability so they do not teach anything to the people in these jobs. So, I believe, to prepare for the future, it is better to participate in classes that can teach practical skills, like finance classes which are the best option for those who want to invest in the stock market, which is a popular way of making money these days.

In conclusion, parents should not allow their children to have a part-time job if they want to prepare them for their future. Children who study in order to be accepted by universities and those who apply in useful classes have an advantage over those who work as part-time workers. Therefore, in my opinion, children should not have a part-time job.