Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

"People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment - doing things they like to do - rather than doing things they should do."

There is no doubt today that people have better and more variety of ways to spend their personal time. In my opinion, it is not always spent on their desires and fun. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, modern developments have reduced unnecessary wastage of time. In the olden days, a lot of efforts were used on tiring labour for even simple tasks. Today many such tasks are automated thanks to technology. Compared to olden days where books needed to scourged for days to search something, today information is readily available and a click away on Google. In my own experience, I use calculators for fast calculations, phones as an alternative of letters for better communication, airplanes to reduce time spent in transit. This shows that people can now assign this extra free time for hobbies, pleasure activities, work or any productive task. Making a recreational use of time is also something which researchers suggest one should do to avoid stress and depression. In addition, given how readily the economy and various fields of science are flourishing suggests that the educated people are using their education and invested time to contribute further on to advancements.

Secondly, a case can also be made that as the state of technology has advanced, the burdens of individuals has reached higher levels too. Compared to olden days, one needs to earn more money and be more financially stable to stay afloat, given the rising inflation. Many people have to work two- three jobs to earn enough for their families. Work culture has also become highly competitive and stressful. Employees are expected to work and stay in the office more than required. If anyone leaves on time, they are judged. The extra time gained due to technological advances is spent on working more instead of spending it on recreation.

In conclusion, I believe that people in this age have a greater amount of time at their disposal but are not necessarily wasting it. This is because they mostly use it for recreational activities which is productive for better mental health, and at work because of recent work culture developments.