Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nostalgia is a powerful emotion felt by all human beings. Sometimes we tend to look at the past through rose-tinted glasses and reminisce over fond memories. Many people believe that life forty fifty years ago was simpler and easier. However, I believe that life today is much better and more comfortable, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, today most people have an abundance of resources at their hands. Technology has truly been a boon to the society where we now have washing machines, dishwashers, lawn mowers, cellphones among many other things which automate all boring tasks for us. However, that was not the case, say 60 years ago. For instance, when my grandparents were children they had to do most of their chores mechanically. Washing clothes was an exhausting activity which had to be done by hand, beating the soap-ridden clothes on a rock slab near the river. After which the full load of garments would have to be hung in the open air as well, and then collected after a few hours. Most weekends would be assigned to a chore as trivial as laundry. Contrast it with today, where I can use a washing machine which will not only wash but dry the clothes effectively as well with hardly any effort from my side. In the time saved, I could watch my favourite sitcom or read a book or complete my taxes. Technology has been created to make life comfortable.

Secondly, we also possess a treasure of knowledge at our hands now. Most information we need is simply a click away, online for our perusal. Anything can be searched via online search engines and one can make an informed decision. There are hundreds of thousands of tutorials online, giving instructions on anything from stitching a button to fixing a car tire. My own experience would be a compelling illustration of this. When I was ten, I wanted to learn a special form of hiphop dancing but no one in my small town in India had even heard of it. I was disheartened initially and cursed my luck on being stuck. But soon I found hundreds of dancing videos online, where a person would try to explain slowly how to move and perform the dance. I could use the internet on my laptop and copy the dance tutor online, slowing the video where I felt stuck and with time I learned it quickly. Compare this to sixty years ago, where one would have probably given up on achieving this goal due to lack of information and access to it.

In conclusion, I believe that life is easier today due to the range of knowledge and options we have at our disposal. Life might have been simpler back then but is easier to live and achieve goals now.