Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Some people say that the internet provides people with a lot of valuable information. Others think access to so much information creates problems. Which view do you agree with?

Since the beginning of this century, in all distinctive civilized societies, it has been a controversial argument among ordinary individuals or even intellectuals, through which numerous conflicts have been engendered. Some people are inclined toward the opinion that providing too much information, the internet can cause some difficulties, while others consider this issue in a whole diverse perspective. Although an absolute conclusion cannot be made, in spite of all the opposite attitudes, I strongly concur with the statement that the internet provides beneficial information for individuals. The outstanding reasons for my opinion would be explored below.

First and foremost, utilizing the internet, the students not only will be able to receive information but they also will be able to reach a better education. Some people would think that the internet has made students lazy. However, I believe just because students today have more access to more sources does not mean that they are lazy. After all they are able to do their assignments more effectively. My point is that, for example, I am majoring at industrial engineering and I have access to all the materials that is needed for my education via the internet. As a matter of fact, I will not be able to do my assignments as well as I am doing now, if the internet does not provide much information.

In addition to better education, the internet provides a large spectrum of information. If one wishes to obtain a profound knowledge, he/she will be able to combine all the different sources in order to achieve a deeper knowledge by using the internet. For example, if a student's field of study is chemistry, but he/she is also interested in biology, he/she will be able to combine both subjects in order to gain better knowledge. In fact, writing a paper is an arduous work since you have to incorporate all of your sources in order to write an appropriate paper. Although it would not be impossible without the internet, it definitely could be cumbersome.

Apart from all the points that have been made above, there is also another reason that I want to discuss about, and that is by using internet, people get to know each other better. That is not only does the internet provide information about subjects but also it gives information about individuals as well. For example, students will be able to get to know their professors and their fields of research by checking out their profiles on the websites such as Facebook. I realize that some people might think this is scary that others have access to some information about them, and they might feel that their privacy has been ruined by the internet, but I have to state that this issue highly depends on themselves. They are able to choose whether they want to discuss about their personal information or not. They can even choose what information they are willing to discuss about. That is, they actually define their privacy themselves.

By way of conclusion, based on the arguments that have been explored above I fundamentally agree with the statement that the internet provides precious information. I believe the internet is beneficial because it provides better education, it has a large variety of information, and it helps people to know each other.