Do you agree or disagree with following statements?

The telephone has a greater influence on people's lives than television.

New technologies made our lives more convenient than the past. Recent innovations in communication changed our lives in a good way. Even though they create some problems for us, but their benefits far outweigh their drawbacks. Some people are of the opinion that television has a greater effect on us than the telephone while others hold a different point of view. I insist that both of them are essential for our society and it is hard to imagine our world without them. In the following, I am willing to support my perspective by proposing two main arguments.

First and the foremost reason lies in the fact that telephone brought us together. We use it to communicate with each other. If the telephone did not exist, we could lose our connection with lots of people including our friends and relatives. It reduced the transportation costs by eliminating unnecessary transportations. For example, my family lived in Birjand. In the meantime, I was studying in Mashhad which was far away from Birjand. Whenever I had a problem in those days, I called my family and they could help me to solve it. Otherwise, they always were worried about my conditions and it could dissuade me from pursuing further study.

Another subtle factor rests on the notion that television has a significant influence on the information dissemination and businesses. There are lots of businesses which are highly dependent on the television, acting, advertisement, news agencies and so forth. In addition, television brings us peace because in today's world, if something happened around the world, people would be informed and would help each other to solve it. I remember that about twelve years ago, an earthquake occurred in my country. Then, the whole country and other countries contributed to managing the situation. In that case, television played a crucial role in the disaster. It leads that people feel empathy for survivors.

To sum up, I would like to point out that comparing television and telephone is as well as comparing apple and oranges. As a result, we need both them and if we removed each of them from our community, it would cause scores of problems for us. Not only does the telephone lower the costs but television also creates various businesses and propagates information among people. Furthermore, the basic technology in both of them is very similar. However, I concede that we should use them in a good way, otherwise, they could cause problems for us.