Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout the history, teachers have always been considered as one of the most deciding groups in any society. With advancing human communities, however, this role has increasingly lost its importance which may have impacted the prestige hold by teachers. Like it or not, in this increasingly advancing age, teachers are losing respect in societies partly because other forms of learning methods have emerged. Although, there might be some other determining factors concerning this issue. Personally, my own opinion is in accordance with the above-stated account. The rationale behind my opinion is presented in the ensuing essay.

To begin with, compared to the past, today there are a tremendous number of teachers serving in various branches of education which may signal the idea that becoming a teacher today is a less overwhelming enterprise. While in the past becoming a teacher demanded a huge level of trouble due to the lack of sufficient access to required resources for teaching which often forced people to enter the world of mentorship which in part, was not easy. As a result, lay people had a high opinion and respect for the teachers because they knew how laborious was it to become a teacher. My own experience is a compelling example to illustrate this. I can remember from my childhood, when the so-called advancement in education was not prevalent in our country, that how we, as first-grade students, paid respect to our only teacher because we knew that there were no other ways by which we could gain knowledge and because our teacher had always told us about back-breaking obstacles he had to tackle to become a teacher. Today, however, you can see teachers wherever you turn your eyes and it can be told with certitude, that there is at least one teacher in each village because it has become easier to become a teacher. As one of the 19-century poets of our country properly puts it; “the more makes cheap” which is adaptable to our current argument and it can be inferred from the saying that since we have an abundance of teachers today, they are less respected.

The second reason which may bear a light on this issue is that due to the recent technological advancements-which have made the learning process a less burdensome experience- people today, are less teacher dependent in learning. To be more specific, people today can acquire different pieces of information from various resources, from the Internet to magazines and technological devices which have made learning a less teacher-centered activity. consequently, people today do not pay as much respect as they did in the past to teachers. for instance, when I was studying the English language in Safir institute, I possessed a phone, an MP3 player, a laptop and various books by all of which I could gain knowledge created the and led me to the mentality that I no longer had a need to a teacher. As a result, I had a low attitude toward the teacher and considered him as a futile person, which was not good.

All in all, to sum up, what I outlined above, I strongly hold husband the idea that teachers today are less respected in comparison to the past. I feel this way because becoming a teacher today is not difficult and because there are others sources of obtaining knowledge other than teachers.