Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

The world has witnessed the unprecedented boom in all manner of fields in recent years. The flourish of the science, Internet and other high-technology industries has considerably intensified the need for qualified generations to be capable of shouldering the responsibility of integrating many ideas into bright inventions. It's indisputable that all the professionals must have received strict and comprehensive education. When it comes to instruction, teachers stand as the most significant role to rekindle the passion of students to learn and invigorate the students to master knowledge more efficiently and expeditiously so that they are equipped with practical skills to challenge every obstacle. From my standpoint, concomitantly teachers are more appreciated and respected in this fast-paced world for they can work wonders to cultivate new competent generations. The reasons are elaborated in the ensuing paragraphs.

First and foremost, we should bear in mind that the prerequisite for a country to attach importance to education is its comparative progressive social conditions. Never will a person take up a pen until he can subsist, the same is true of a country. In the past decades, nearly the whole world was entrapped in horrible wars or poverty, it's not a stretch to say that the subsistence must take precedence over education. Unequivocally at that era teachers could not enjoy as high reputations as today since the preoccupation of people at that time was to make money to support their families.

Furthermore, the proliferation of Internet enables teachers to amplify their scope of influence without the hassle of long distance brought. It was commonplace in the old time that the students must spend much time in transporting to consult a teacher, distance inevitably served as a stumbling block which had grossly precluded students from approaching their teachers. This kind of obstacles have utterly been tackled nowadays, however. In this brand new century, students are able to communicate with their teachers anytime without imposed constraints. Some newly invented and acclaimed app, which provide a platform for teachers to upload their videos to instruct lessons and lay out the questions asked by netizens, catch on the Internet. This trend can well exemplify the fact that teachers are empowered to diffuse their profound thoughts more broadly, so that the increase in their social status seems to be more reasonable.

Moreover, the flowers and praises teachers receive coincide with their untiring and indefatigable diligence. As the world is advancing towards further development, the requirements foisted on the teachers become stricter concurrently. My aunt can well illustrate that. As a teacher in high school, she is inured to prepare for the class until the midnight everyday in order to teach the children more concisely. Besides that, her school would send teachers to further study abroad periodically to equip them with edgy knowledge to edify the students. It is no wonder that they are valued more, considering they are so committed and devoted to their career nowadays.

Concerning all the statements mentioned above, I want to reiterate my standpoint that the rapidly increasing needs coupled with their endeavor finally help them to gain higher reputations and social status.