Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Teachers are the fundamental of education. In the past, people usually respected and honored them as vital in the improving nations. however, the generation and environment changed, there are more different ways that we can absorb knowledge, such as, via the internet. In this regards, some people may think teachers are not important as before. generally speaking, I agree teacher has not their previous appreciation among people. there are a number of factors at play, as I shall discuss below.

One of these factors is teachers' salary. In past, teachers' salary was equal or even higher than the average income of other society members which supported them to maintain a good live condition. But now, as other jobs' income like engineers, doctors, and typical employees increase significantly, teachers' wage do not change so much. people usually judge and appreciate others based on their financial situation. Therefore, given that teaching has stood as a job with lower payment in the society, they are not valued as before.

Second, teachers' social position among people has weakened. In past, people respected teachers because they have more ability to access large amount of knowledge than other people. they considered teachers as individuals which were knowledgeable and worthy to respect. however, by the technology and the education programs, most of people can read and write, and they can get many information by the internet. In this regards, teachers' positions are not so unique.

The third factor is that children are not needed to send to school for education. Nowadays, there are more and more parents prefer to teach their kids by their own since they believe the educational system is not efficient and not feasible enough for each child. As, schools are not appreciated by parents, consequently, teachers are not honored by society as a member and employee of schools.

In sum, I think most of us not appreciate teachers as before depend on mentioned factors.