Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today's modern society, there is quite a large obsession, especially with the younger generations over celebrities and their lifestyles. opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are exerting an increasing impact on people. An interesting question, along the booming of celebrity culture, emerges and ignites a heated debate. do celebrities' opinions play a more important role in influencing younger people than they do in influencing older people? some people tend to say yes, but others do not see it in the same way as the supporters do. As far as I am concerned, the issue should be discussed on a case-by-case analysis.

it is evident that celebrity culture remains dominant in larger cities. Indeed, almost all teenagers in urban areas view celebrities as their role models and these celebrities have a great influence on their appearance and attitude. The reasons behind this phenomenon are multifold. In big cities, the affluent economy and high technology make it possible for teenagers to have access to celebrities. In a society where money is of less concern, people have inclination to pay more attention to their leisure needs, which drives an active entertainment industry in urban areas. living in the technological era, social networking platforms such as Twitter and Facebook are narrowing the distance between celebrities and teenagers. through social media, teenagers can potentially get rapid responses from their idols or can be directly involved in their idol's work and life. this quick response and high involvement solidify the idol-fan relationship. As for different degrees of this celebrity effect on younger versus older people, the impact on younger people far outweighs the impact on older people. young people are still establishing their identity, so they need to find a role model. Accordingly, most of them tend to view celebrities including entertainers and professional athletes as their examples to imitate.

In spite of the reasons for celebrities having a greater impact on younger people in big cities, it is ungrounded to assume this kind of impact still exists with young people living in remote villages. Again, the first reason is economical and basic human needs. What concerns people living in remote villages is still their basic needs, and therefore, they are less passionate about entertainment and celebrities. Another reason is outdated technology. Due to remoteness and poor transportation, modern technology does not prove to be a boon for people in rural areas. As a result, young people can hardly gain access to information about celebrities. When young people in rural areas try to develop their identity, they are more likely to seek guidance from their parents, relatives, neighbors and historical figures instead of celebrities. there is no doubt the celebrity effect will be weak. Even though they may know some celebrities through TV, the huge distance will further weaken this minute effect. In all, in the setting of remote areas, one can assume celebrities' opinions are less important to younger people.

As analyzed above, it can be concluded that the statement in question is tenable in some cases but it does not apply to all circumstances. To be specific, you may say that the opinions of celebrities are more important to younger people than they are to older people in the context of big cities, but it is too over-generalized to assume this phenomenon also exists in remote areas.