Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is a huge argument among improving internet access and improving public transportation in a limited budget. In different areas, the choices are totally different. So, to be more specific, I would focus to discuss the development of far villages instead of urban areas. Some people think public transportation is more important because a convenient transportation system would bring more travelers and also increase the revenue of this area, but others do not see it in the same. As far as I concerned, internet access is more vital. There are several reasons at play, as I shall discuss below.

First of all, well internet access would decrease the difference in education among cities and rural areas. The education problem is terrible in far villages because of the less of teachers. The willingness of teachers teaching there is low because of the low salaries and far from their home. Nevertheless, the far distance teaching would be a probable solution of this serious situation. Students could learn courses through the videos on the internet or even join a class in cities via live. The solution is base on good internet access, so investments of the internet should be primary.

The second reason is the medical concerns. It is hard to build a general hospital in rural areas. The recruitment of doctors is more difficult than the recruitment of teachers, so the medical resource is unbalance between urban and rural areas. There are a number of people could not get well treatment when they are sick. The internet would partially deal with the problem. patients could consult with doctors online to solve the symptom immediately. Although, patients still need to go to hospitals to get more treatments, the internet could help release patients’ pain. Improving internet access is an easier and more efficient way to solve this problem than building a hospital.

Finally, it is easier to impose policies under a good internet environment. In the past, it is hard to connect with far villages. The transcription is far and slow, and the urgent policies could be delayed. However, if the internet access is thorough, it is easy that the central government just send a document and the local governments would get the information directly. The implementation of policies would be same time.

As a conclusion, in the technology era, governments should invest on improving internet access primarily in the rural areas. And the problems of education and less medical resource would be solved temporarily.