Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

By and large, teachers are the people who can change the future of society. They have a direct effect on the next generations, which will make the future. So great is the role of the teachers in every society that draws attention to them consistently; their importance could not be underestimated. In this regard, some controversies always arise whether the teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are now. Although many could be against this idea, personally, I agree with it. In the following lines, I will present and investigate two reasons to substantiate my response.

The first reason is that they had a higher degree in the past. In other words, the knowledge and who deal with it have a greater position in society; knowledge always considered a special field among people, and few ones really attended to it. Moreover, people were occupied by ordinary careers such as agriculture or cattle raising and received necessary information about these activities from their family members. Therefore, teachers, as who had a special duty, were always valued and cherished by people. In comparison, now, people have higher education levels and occupy many critical jobs in society, and being a teacher is considered an ordinary career. For example, my mother’s aunt used to be a teacher. She always told us about the importance of teachers in the past and how people in the past respected and valued her.

The second noteworthy point is that teachers used to be considered sacred in the past. The educations usually stemmed from religious notions and rituals. Schools used to be the churches or mosques, and the major parts of the education were based on learning the holly books. Compared with now that teachers have little to do with the religion or religious beliefs of society. For instance, in my country, Iran, where most people are Muslim, Schools used to teach the context of the Quran. Children took part in schools to got familiar with religious tenets or to be able to read the holy book. So, the teacher was valued by people constantly as who has an important role in the constitution of the children’s religious beliefs.

In summary, having analyzed the reasons above, I think that teachers had greater values in the past. Because not only have they supreme positions in society but also they were teaching the religious contexts.