Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Advertising is the most important cause of unhealthy

eating habits.

Since the dawn of the technology era, advertisement converted to a powerful way to influence people's life; it is an influential mean to help companies achieve their goals. Sometimes advertisements aim at food, and it can be detrimental because it correlated with people's health. In this regard, a controversial point often raised is whether the advertisement is the most important cause of unhealthy eating habits. Although many people may corroborate that advertisements are the most influential cause of changes in people's diet, personally, I disagree with the statement. In the following lines, I will present and investigate two reasons to substantiate my response.

The first reason is that the sources of unhealthy foods are widespread. In other words, because of the sheer profits of the food industry, restaurants are proliferating progressively. Hence, every day, a new restaurant begins its work, and every street teems with restaurants in any type of it, such as traditional ones or fast foods; they are easy to access for people who do not want to bother himself to prepare food. For instance, consider a woman who is a full-time worker, when she finishes her work in the afternoon, on her way to home, there are a lot of restaurants. After tiredness a whole day working, it is likely that these tantalizing restaurants could lead her to buy and eat unhealthy food. If there were not such an abundance number of restaurants, she would not propel into unhealthy foods.

The second point of equal importance is that today, rarely do people have enough time to prepare food. It goes without saying that today, people should cope with many issues before they arrive home; they work long hours at their workplace, and after that, they get stuck in traffic congestion. Therefore, they have a short time either to spend with their family or to spend on their favorite activities. This lack of time is a motive for unhealthy food because they can achieve delicious food in a very short time. To illustrate, consider the same example, If the woman could reach home without buying unhealthy food, because she should handle a lot of tasks more important than cooking, maybe she puts cooking at least priority and eventually orders something from restaurants. Provided that she had time, she would prepare her food.

In summary, having analyzed the two reasons above, one can surmise that advertisements are not counted as the most influential thing in unhealthy eating habits. Because not only are the sources of unhealthy food expand but also people lack time to pay attention to food.