Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendship with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, a prime and fundamental controversy on the issue whether old or new friends can bring a better quality of interaction for us. Some people would claim that finding a new person as a friend is more joyful and easy. however, as well as I am concerned, I agree that spending time with an old friend with the all memories can be an ideal part of the life for two following reasons.

The first and foremost reason that I prefer to illustrate is that a long term relationship brings us a lot of information about the characteristics of a friend. A relevant example can shed light on this assertion. 5 years ago, when I was a student at GWU, I was alone most of the time and couldn't find a suitable individual to start a friendship with. Moreover, at the same time all of my classmates were friends and I was feeling isolated. Thus, I was depressed for more than a semester till one of my old friends moved to the same university. Consequently, his presence on that sitation assisted me to become stronger and I tried to feel happy again.

The second reason that should be taken into account is that spending time with a new person can affect us in an unsuitable way. For instance, according to a recent research study at George Washington university, most of the new coming students to the campus can not manage themselves to make convenient friendships in a short time. Furthermore, as parents play a crucial role in the choices of a young individual before the university time the student is not able to decide practically in a diverse range of matters. As a result, experts and psychologists argue that parents can help their childeren during the first year of the university by avoiding to send them without a familiar friend to a conflict zone.

To sum up, I firmly believe in the pleasure that an average pesron can feel by spending time with an old friend for two main reasons. first, old connection with the same person makes a familiar with all of his/her traits. What is more, a strange person can have abnormal impacts on us that are not our goals or plan in our private life.