Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The statement is making us to choose between the ability to maintain long-term friends and the ability to make new friends. I guess this dichotomy does exist in our life, since we have limited time and energy, we indeed cannot give equal and sufficient attention to everybody around us. But I don’t think everyone has to share the same idea with regard to this choice, because we all have different personalities and experience. On the one hand, I am a fan of long-lasting relationships, but I also respect those who can make friends easily. This apparent difference really comes from our different needs.

For starters, I enjoy long-term friendships in that old friends are the ones who stand behind you and always support you to move forward, just like your relatives who bond wit you. It is quite an honor for me to have such kind of friends. And it can be proved by a story between me and my best friend. When I was in senior high school, I was a member in the dancing team. One day, the teacher taught us to perform a new dancing movement. Even if I tried several times, it was still too hard for me to finish it and I seemed too award with a sense of shame appearing on my face, so that at that time almost everyone in the dancing team was laughing at me except my best friend. Instead, she just went over to me and gave me a remedy on how to do it without any impatience. As time goes by, she is still my best friend who I trust in most; because I am clearly conscious of that she will never leave me behind. Maintaining friendship with such an old friend over several years indeed brings me a sense of happiness and provides us with a safety net.

Still, making new friends is also an indispensable part of my life, which renders my life increasingly fantastic. Although I am a graduate student major in biology, I prefer attending different kinds of activities to just doing experiment alone in labs. When I found someone who share mutual thought or have similar interest with me, I am willing to give my social account to them and keep in touch with them, which enormously enrich my life. Additionally, I favors doing research regarding the combination of different majors with biology, and the ability to make new friends with people from a variety of fields ensures better cooperation between us. Hence, making new friends brings me another kind of happiness.

Of course, I am capable to defend myself when some people points out that friendship which you establish with ease is vulnerable. In my view, whether friendship can last long depends on how well you maintain it, not the way by which you become friends. Actually, in some cases long-lasting friends may begin with an occasional chance and you will find a mutual respect and trust when you get to know each other deeper.

Overall, old friends and new friends are both indispensable parts of our lives. I stand on my ground on this one: both the skill to maintain friendship with a few people over a long period and to make many new friends easily is crucial for us.