Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.Use specific reasons and ex

The longest study on happiness at Harvard University in psychotherapy, has revealed that happiness in people’s lives have directly related to the quality of one’s interaction with others. In terms of friendships, both approaches are noteworthy but in my point of view, long- lasting relationships could bring more exhilaration and joyfulness for individuals.

Friendship is more like work of art built up over time based on different feelings and emotions in different colors one experiences with his/her friends. Trust, forgiveness and compassion through memories of the best and worst in life would complete and shape it. It is all about time as Antoine de Saint-Exupery in The Little Prince said: “It is the time you spend on your rose that makes your rose so important”. Therefore, trying to keep old friends who one has emotional connections with, is more important for happiness in life.

On the other hand, friends who one has shared part of his/her life with, especially crazy experiences, find a lot in common, and know each other well enough, so they are themselves, no need to pretend to be someone else. Actually they are not going to make any judgments, instead they support and encourage each other, which could be the most important reason to be happy with these people. For example I have some friends from that time at high school, now, even though we are far from each other as we are in different cities, we need to get together every month reviewing memories and talking about what are going in our lives and have very great time. Actually these gatherings help me reduce stress and make me so pleased.

In conclusion, I believe that being in touch with people who one has emotional connection which definitely occur over a long period of time would be more effective for happiness in life, rather than easily making new ones.