Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.Use specific reasons and ex

There is no shortage of debate about whether it is more advantageous to have new friends or to maintain our relationship with the old ones. Despite knowing new people is sometimes exciting from the perspective of discovering new characters and ideas, I think it is better to stick with the old friends.

First of all, it is clear that the old friendships are irreplaceable. With the complexity of the modern life and the dangers that surround us, it is extremely hard to build confident relationships. People now are looking for their needs more than before. The relation between people is related with their needs to each other. We can't easily give our secret to new people. In contrast, old friends are the most trusted people where we can share everything. My life is a compelling example. While my relationship with new people is very limited and I rely so much on my old friends, my young sister is making always new friends and every time we meet she is upset about one of them, she critiques their behaviour and she always say that they are not worth her trust and care.

Second, the memories carried by the old friends are a real treasure, those people who share with you unforgettable moment, your first kiss, your first party, your biggest problem in primary school. They carry with them a part of our life, and as we live ones this is the most important for us. In addition even when we have new friends, they really can't understand us in the bad moment, they can't see what we really need, because simply they don't really know who we really are. For instance, when I have problems in the university, my colleges can't understand my feeling, however talking with my old friends, even when distances separate us, hearing them just make me relax and ready to solve my life issues.

To assume, I strongly believe that it is more important to maintain our relationships with a long period.