Do you agree or disagree with the following statement:

The best way to travel is in a group led by a tour guide.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Despite bearing some similarities, the differences between traveling alone and traveling with a tour guide are remarkable. In my opinion, it is best to travel with a tour guide for several reasons. In the following paragraphs I will point out the importance of a tour guide.

First of all, tour guides are often educated in the field of tourism, therefore, they have adequate knowledge on how to treat tourists. Furthermore, they have a comprehensive knowledge of all historical sites, their stories, and cultural values of the local people. In this regard, they engage on providing tourists with a great deal of information about a site they are visiting. Only by listening to a tour guide, can we find out about the real stories behind the exotic and quaint sites.

Moreover, tour guides not only speak the local language, but they also speak several international languages. For this reason, they can provide tourists with updated information with regard to historical buildings, new findings, excavations, and heritage. Also, they can solve any conflicts between tourists and local people, or any missconceptions, as well as defend from tourists' rights. For instance, we were being ripped off in our travel to Thailand if it was not for our tour guide who helped us.

Finally, not to mention the fact that existance of a tour guide for visiting some places is mandatory, would be an oversight. There are some places that are sacred, such as temples, that require a monk to guide tourists within the temple. Furthermore, some other places are perilous for tourists to visit alone. For instance, if a person is to visit mount Everest, he should hire a guide with whom he can climb the mountain.

All in all, having a tour guide have many benefits for us when we are traveling. Tour guides have complete information, they speak several languages, specially the local one, and they can take us to see places that are otherwise impossible to for us to see.