Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When was the last time u visited your grandfather's house? What about your other far relatives? Many people in the today society can't answer these simple questions. But why? does our society put the same value to the family as before? I believe the extended family losing its value and I'm going to explain why in this essay.

With the industrialization, jobs become more and more demanding both physically and mentally and as result, people have less free time to spend on family meetings. Many of today teenager can only see their grandparents on holidays. I was one of these teenagers and to be honest many of my relatives are a bunch of total strangers that I have to see, like once in a year. In my view, this limited interaction is one of the reasons that led to the decline in extended family value.

Furthermore, many people today tend to live in a far distance from their relatives for reasons like job opportunity, cost of living, better quality of life and..., For example, when I was eight years old, we had to move to capital because of my father's job. In my view, this long distance adds up to this problem as the old adage says out of the sight out of the mind.

Another reason that deserves some words is social media. With this rapid growth of social media now we can interact and have more relation than ever before. These wider options make it possible for us to spend time with people we like and have the same interest rather than the limited family members. For instance, i prefer to spend my time with my online friends rather than my boring cousins.

Because of the made reasons l believe that the extended family is become less and less valuable and will likely continue to lose its place as our society construction evolve.