Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the past, extended families lived under the same roof. Each family member, for instance grandparents, aunts, cousins, helped in the house tasks. Besides, they shared a similar lifestyle and beliefs. Nowadays, some people believe that this kind of family has greater effect in our life. However, others disagree stating that these are less important now than it was in the past. From my point of view, these members have less influence than once they had some decades or centuries ago.

To begin, most families not live together in the same house. In fact, it is a common feature of our modern society that people do not live close from their parents or grandparents' home. They need to move to other city or countries because of their professional career or social difficulties. Therefore, the distance affects the relationships in a family.

Another reason is that each person has several activities and they do not have enough free time to visit their family. Moreover, in some cases, those who have few free hours because of their busy schedule, prefer to stay at home. As a result, most of isolated family replace with extended family.

The last point that should be mentioned is that there are difficulties to have enough space for extended families, in order to live in them. Currently, buying or renting a big house or apartment for more than ten people is very expensive. In addition, the probability of acquiring an apartment with several rooms and a convenient price is low.

In conclusion, extended family members have less influence in the present. This occurs because people need to leave their city as a result of their professional career. Besides, they lose interest in spend time with extended family members as a consequence of their busy schedule or because they do not live in the same house.