Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Technological advances have changed humans' lives. The way in which people communicate, learn and entertain is very different from those of a few decades ago. Computer games have become very popular among the younger generations. As a result, there is a discussion over the consequences of playing video games for long periods. Some people consider that is a waste of time and parents should not allow their kids to play them. However, some others have an opposite view believing that computer games are good. I believe that children do not have to spend many hours playing them because they have to develop social abilities and physical health.

To begin, children need to improve their physical health. For that reason, they should practise some sports to be healthy. Hence, they will not have problems with obesity or sedentary lifestyle. Besides, a healthy life will prevent them to suffer several diseases in the future, such as heart diseases. On the other hand, if young people spend a long time in front of a computer screen, this may cause some vision problems or other irreparable damages. Therefore, parents should convince them to play computer games, but in a limited time.

The second argument against allowing children playing computer games is that they need to develop social skills. Computer games make them introverts. Therefore, they need to interact with other humans outside their home. As a consequence, they should socialize, improve their social skills and make friends. This will help them in their future, for example during their professional life.

To conclude, the younger generations should not be allowed to play computer games for long periods of time. Sitting in front of a computer screen can cause healthy problems or make them introverts. They need to develop social and physical skills. In fact, playing with control will not have negative consequences in their future.