Many students have to live with roommates while going to school or university. What are some of the important qualities of a good roommate? Use specific reasons and examples to explain why these qualities are important.

Some students should live away from their parents or family while they go to university or school. Sometimes they must be prepared to share their new home with other people. Although there are different opinions about how a good roommate should be, I believe that responsibility, and being communicative and friendly are the most important qualities.

The first point is that a good roommate should be responsible. There are some rules to follow when people live together. For instance, cleaning rules. A good roommate is tidy and clean. If he or she is untidy, it could turn into a living problem because I consider myself a tidy person. In fact, I remember a summer vacation with one of my friends who did not clean his room. I had to do it. If he were a responsible person, he would not have had this behavior.

Another important quality is being communicative. A good communication among roommates is necessary in order to minimize the conflicts. There will always be differences between people who live in the same home, for example, regarding privacy, noises, food, bills and others. When the conflicts arise, the roommates must discuss them as openly as possible, always with respect, in order to overcome these problems.

The last characteristic that should be mentioned is friendship. People who live together can share activities such as playing sports, watching movies or playing cards. Moreover, if roommates have a good relationship, they can be friends and also study together. In fact, they can also support each other in on challenging days. Additionally, I consider that a good roommate could be a good listener and offer you help when needed.

To sum up, a responsible and friendly roommate probably will make the university or school life more enjoyable. For that reason, it is important to choose them carefully.