Many students have to live with roommates while going to school or university. What are some of the important qualities of a good roommate? Use specific reasons and examples to explain why these qualities are important.

Living with others can be unbearable especially if people do not fit each other or do not have necessary traits for cohabitation. I feel that both friendliness and responsibility are the two essential qualities for every roommate.

To begin with, friendliness is one of the main characteristics that a roommate should pose. I am sure in this since studying in a school is a difficult task that requires a lot of energy and concentration to be successful. Quite often students suffer from stress or blue mood that cause by deadlines, exams, and conferences. Struggling with these hardships may undermine us so we can be in need of other's support. If this situation occurs, a friendly roommate would more likely help us to overcome a problem than any other person. What is more, we force to spend a lot of time with our roommate since we are living together. This necessary time spending will be more pleasant if our companion is friendly. For example, I lived in a dormitory with Sergey, who was willing to help at any time. He also filled my student life with joy that I have never felt lonely from my family.

In addition, carrying of responsibility is the second crucial quality for a good roommate. Humans are social creatures that cannot do everything by their own. By this I mean that sometimes we need to ask people around us to do something because of a variety of reason. For example, we may become ill, so we can ask our roommate to warn about our absence and сдать a task for us. In that case, we would wish to have a responsible roommate, for being sure in the completion of our request. For example, I was late on examination and do not have any other way to warn my teacher except to ask Sergey to do it. He warned the examination, and this action saved me from retaking the exam.

To summarize, I believe friendliness coupled with carrying of responsibility are the most important qualities for roommates.