Some people believe that students should be given one long vacation each year. Others believe that students should have several short vacations throughout the year. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Use specific reasons

Although some people think that teacher’s salary should depend on performance of students, I feel otherwise since this approach can lead to preparation to test instead of teaching students. This coupled with difficulties of estimating student’s knowledge.

To begin with, if we link income of teachers with knowledge of pupils, it can preclude teachers to do their job – teaching students. This may happen because teaching to subject does not grant the high results on a test and consequently high salary. Furthermore, Preparing to test becomes more profitable than ordinary educational process. The consequences of that can be huge. Quality of education may decrease since students will good on a test, yet will know nothing beyond the test. Since education is ground of society and development of it depend on people’s education. In other words, I think that only learned people can move country and society forward so initiatives that may worse the educational level in a state should be eliminated. Paying to teachers in relation with learning of students is one of such initiatives.

What is more, there is no exact way for estimation of student’s knowledge so we cannot estimate and compare how students from different school know discipline. I know about tests and exams as methods to evaluate pupil’s knowledge only. Both of them have disadvantages that prevent to use them in justify teacher’s salary distribution. First, any test or exam is not able to include all studied material. A tester will be examined for a part of course only so a student can get few questions that he learned and get a high score even if he barely knows a subject. For example, it happened to me, when I got an excellent score by luck only. My knowledge did not satisfy my mark. Second, any exam or test gives any opportunity to prepare for it and be able to answer any problem for a test. Nonetheless, It won’t show the knowledge if subject since students can rote memorize answers to particular questions and problems. This rote memorization may cost nothing in terms of learning.

To summarize, both our inability to estimate fairly how much a student has learned and transition to preparing to tests instead of teaching make me think that professors income should not depend on pupil’s performance.