Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

History has a tendency to be repeated many times in a row, so we can compare events from past to modern occasions. It is why I feel that knowledge about previous times helps to deal with the present. Besides that, learning about the past makes us more learned persons that increase our understanding of life and the world.

To begin with, events of past still influence on present occasions. It would be better to say, that past has formed the present; hence, any modern event or thing contains something out of the past. This shows the intrinsic connection of past and present. For instance, this bound can be observed in traditions of nations or in current borders of countries. Both customs and nations have been formed in past and reflect the history independent of our desires not to accept this. Consequently, we are closely related to the past even if we do not notice this relation in our everyday life. This is the reason, why the present is accounted for past and present cannot be considered without past. All of that makes learning of history is essential for everyday living.

What is more, history is an unlimited source of wise of preceding generations so being aware of the past allows mankind to overcome modern challenges that humanity faces. In other words, everything has happened already sometimes in the past, so answers to the majority of the current issues can be found in the annals of history; hence knowing of the past helps us to solve problems in present. By the same token, learning about past provides people an opportunity not to make again the same mistakes as our anchors have done. Moreover, people who know about events of the past, have a more complete picture of the world and are able to make more complex decisions. This is because learned persons can take into account experience of the old outer world. As a result, this benefits of knowing history makes a contribution to the importance of knowing about the past.

To summarize, events that have already happened reflects our everyday reality, so we cannot reject them. This is the reason why history saves its meaning and should be studied by everyone.