People most respect the powerful not when they exercise their power, but when they refrain from exercising it.

What aspect of power endangers the most respect? When they show us their opportunities or when they possess mercy? Some would argue that power reflects in control of others through the active doings, such as raising of a huge army or punishing those who do not agree with us. However, others would state that inaction and refrain from using of power is a sign of true power. It can be shown in clemency to a criminal or inability to take critics from people around us. After weighing the evidence, it is certain that avoiding of using power without high demand cause respect to a person. People are respect most not those who have a lot of power and show it in any case, but those who understand the meaning of force and do not push the envelope.

To begin with, some that would insist that a demonstration of power moves people to respect the subject might point to dictators. Those people could say that most citizens of a state with a dictator respect their leader so much that follows any order or initiative that he/she creates. The authority is so high that it happens without hesitation. One of dictators from modern history is Stalin who constantly exercised his power. The people who think that showing of power causes respect could say that Russian population pay respect Stalin. Nonetheless, the main feeling of the population was not respected to the leader but fear. This fear is to be blamed in a crime that they did not commit. A fear that the can appear in Siberia for a denunciation. This burden of fear that the great part Russians of that time experienced, did not leave a room for respect. So if someone turns to exercising of power to cause respect, she/he will not achieve it. The result will be inducing of the fear not the true and internal respect.

On the other hand, leaders who manage state without using excessive power cause respect. A proof can be found in ancient time that is Solomon who probably was a king of Israel. The most information that we have about him is from Bible, so we cannot be sure in the historical accuracy of his existence. In Hebrew Bible, Old Testament it is said that he was very wisdom and peaceful person. All of those prevent him from experiencing power without a necessity. For example, he had mercy and left his brother in peace, despite the fact that the brother wanted to grab the throne. So Solomon had never pushed the limit in terms of power and that is the principal reason why his peers admired and respected him. Therefore, people respect people who are able to avoid exercising power.

Ultimately, after considering both sides of the issue, it must be concluded that refrain from exercising of power is most respected. This is because people who avoid using power are not afraid of the consequences and are able to face the critics. Those traits are respected by other since people do not hide from responsibility and alternative views in overusing of power.