Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The close-knit family once considered an essential part of people life. The value is inhered to the children and passed to next generation. It is embedded in children minds that honor a grandparent, love a cousin and cherish an aunt is ineluctable. However, the advancement of technology, hectic scheduled and downgraded of traditional value makes the extended family less important than before. I personally agree with the statement because several reasons I would like to elaborate more in the next paragraph.

First, the modern technology, especially in the transportation field, separates family. In the ancient time, the members of the family usually dwell in the same area. Additionally, they live within close proximity thus they build extensive connection; simply because they talk to each other more frequently. Whereas, the scientific world invents the airplane therefore human can travel a sheer number of distance. Consequently, the family member lives separated by an enormous distance. For example, my grandfather lives in Papua, the eastern part of my Country, whereas I live in Jakarta. To communicate and to visits each other is a horrendous task. With growing distance, the less connection I have with my grandfather.

Second, the busy life makes people communicate less hence it affects the connection between the extended family member. This era gives people more work and more task to do thus they less likely to confer to each other. The people only able to meet at night and they need to work in the early morning. The limited of vacant time makes people less likely to call or to message family who lives in the different house. For instance, I am a doctor that works in the middle of the city. I leave my house at five in the morning and come home at 7 pm. The only people I can talk are my parents furthermore I would rather sleep instead of going out and visits my grandparents in the weekend. This is detrimental to my relationship with my extended family.

Finally, there is degradation of family value because of individualistic lifestyle that prevalent in the city. When my parents still young, it is a customary for them to visit their cousins in another town for play or mingle with each other. Right now, it considers tawdry and out of place to do something like that every weekend. In addition, the people-centric mindset that grows in urban life takes a precedent in our regard of the extended family.

Ultimately, we should take care of our family and shower them with attention. However, I should agree with the statement that in this period, the extended family becomes less important and more replaceable than in the old times.