Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Determining the most effective method for student assignments is a very important matter. Knowing this will help teachers and educational managers to figure out the best method for improving students' knowledge. Some students and teachers may think that group assignments are more effective while others would disagree. In my opinion, working in groups on projects is the best method for few important reasons from which I will briefly discuss two reasons.

The main reason is that students interact with each other more efficiently. In group studies, students need to talk and debate about various things and even in controversial topics where each individual have his own prospective they may debate on issues. These conversations are themselves a helper for students to shape their insight into the field of study.

Furthermore, it helps them learn from other's point of views and weigh each student's method to solve the problem. For example, several years ago, in one of my mechanical design classes the professor assigned us a project to design the suspension system for a specific vehicle. In this project we had to learn different suspension systems and more specifically those that were used in vehicles. There were four of us in our group and each of us started to research on that. After a while everyone presented his own idea to design the system and surprisingly all of them was different, so, we started to learn each other's design and I got very useful ideas from them that I was not even thinking that the problem can be solved like that. As a result, since then, I tried to design from their prospective which brought me great success in my carrier. This experience taught me that working in groups is the most beneficial method.

The other reason is that students might learn not only the project but also other related topics in group studies. It is clear that to solve a problem, one has to learn and examine various methods and finally come up with the best answer. In the process of try-and-error one can learn lots of useful things. When working with others on the same projects the methods being examined is much more rather than working alone, hence, they encounter with more methods and learn more things. For instance, in another project for the mentioned design course, we started to work on a design altogether, everyone had his idea and different ideas was being examined. We studied some methods that seemed odd to me but we succeeded and I learned new thing in the field. As you can see, group studies helped me to encounter and learn with much more methods.

In sum, though some may disagree with my idea, but I deeply believe that one can benefit much more when working with others. Not only do you learn other's perspectives but also you learn beyond the project. Educational managers should promote the teachers to use this kind of assignments more than individual ones.