Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People learn things better from those at their own level—such as fellow students or co-workers—than from those at a higher level, such as teachers or supervisors.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Determining whether people learn better from those at their own level or those at a higher level is a very important matter. It would help for educational organizations to devise better methods to teach their students for example by dividing the time between formal classes where teachers teach and teamwork where the students will work together and learn with the help of each other. Some people may think that the student learn better from those at higher level while others would think otherwise. In my opinion, people learn better from those at their own level because of two important reasons.

The main reason is that people usually lose their self-confidence when they are interacting with the people they believe to be better than them. This, in turn, make them stressed and it results in a less effective education. Once, I was reading an article in a journal which had investigated the cons of the stress students experience from being tutored by their teacher. In this research, two groups was asked compete to learn a hard topic for a valuable award , one group was instructed by a well-known professor and the other by themselves in a group.

The statistics from these two groups illustrated that the students in the group had better understand of the subject at the end of the time. The researchers also had measured their stress and contributed their higher performance mainly on their less stress. This article taught me that learning from someone at his own level yields to better results.

The other reason is that learning from those at your own level provide more opportunity to discuss different aspects of the subject compared to when one learns from teachers for example. Usually, learning from teachers specially in formal classes reduces the opportunity to talk to the teacher directly and debate on the subject and one have to take the taught lesson as granted even though he or she not understands it. For instance, we had an engineering class in master's and our professor was tutoring that. In one of it's subjects, I really had very problems and I could not understand it. several times, I asked questions from the tutor but I did not understand it but after three times I was ashamed of asking again. However, after the class, my friend and I discussed on that subject for almost an hour and finally we was able to understand the problem.

To sum up, though, some may disagree I deeply believe that learning from those at your level will help you more to understand the subject better. Not only does it make you less stressed but also it provides you with more chance to discuss about it. I think the schools and universities should devise group studies beside their formal classes where the students could teach each other the course materials.