Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Young people nowadays do not give enough time to helping their communities.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The young people's contributions to their communities have always been of significant importance. However, I believe that nowadays, due to the problems which the highly developed societies have brought about, young adults cannot dedicate sufficient time to helping their community. My reasons of support are provided as the following.

To begin with, students encounter a much more competitive environment during their education, and such an environment alongside their parent's high expectation encourage them to spend as much time as possible to their school's tasks which makes it difficult for them to manage a time to do beneficial activities such as reading to the elderly, helping to feed the poor, teaching homeless students, etc. For instance, I used to help our neighbor's daughter, who had lost her spouse, with her home works to fill the absence of her father to some extent. However, after that I found out my parents were not satisfied with my grades at school and expected me to qualify for the same university for which my brother had qualified before, I increased my studying hours considerably and never again got a chance to help the poor little girl.

Secondly, in today's world, entertainment such as social media, the movie industry, and highly advanced video games have become so attractive that people devote many hours of their free time enjoying them. Many of my friends spent a noticeable proportion of their day watching television and keeping track of Facebook's events while this significant amount of time could be used for valuable activities that have benefits for all members of our society.

However, we must appreciate those responsible adults who try hard to overcome these problems and manage their busy schedules in a way that there remains enough time for productive activities as well. For instance, my sister is a literature student and also has a part-time teaching job. Even though she is severely busy during the day with her job and her studying, she always put aside a time to help her friend's old grandmother. Her friend has left the town to pursue her education in the Capital city, and her grandmother is all alone; therefore, my sister's visits mean a lot to her.

In conclusion, I believe that the amount of time our young generation dedicates to the community has declined markedly because they have become severely involved in their studying or jobs and also spend more time on social media compared with generations of earlier times.