Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The technological revolution has been changing our lives dramatically. Personally, I think that if people continue developing technology, they will struggle with its outcomes in the future. There are a few reasons why I hold this stance.

First of all, by elaborating new vehicles, companies contribute to the environmental decline on the planet. These days, cars are one of the sources of green gases, which cause global warming. If today, people do not stop overusing personal vehicles, they will be worthen already existing ecological problem. For instance, I have read in National Geographic magazine that the increase in the global temperature results in glaciers in the north to melt. Therefore, a lot of areas, where people live now, can be under water soon, and these people will have to migrate to different regions to find new homes. Although, some individuals argue that in the future, electric vehicles will replace the regular ones and in this way, will decrease the number of pollutants in the atmosphere, others claim that these cars are not as safe for the environment as ones think. That is why I believe that the development of automobiles can end up with a disaster for humans.

Secondly, machines replace manual labor and workers from all around the world have been losing their jobs. Nowadays, a lot of factories are equipped with different kind of machines, which perform a work that a couple decades ago was done by humans. The possibility that this process will continue in the future is enormous. My father`s experience is a compelling example of this. Five years ago, my dad was a carpenter and had a well-paid job at a factory. However, today, he is unemployed because the company he was working for decided to replace his colleagues and him with a computer-operated equipment, which is more efficient. In this way, my father had to look for new ways to make money for living. Despite the opinion that the ubiquitous technological development creates new professions, for people who lose their jobs, it takes a long time to recover financially and psychologically. This example illustrates how in the future, technological devices can take our jobs and make us suffer from unemployment.

To conclude, I strongly believe that people should think of the consequences of their behavior. This is because in the future we may live in the environmentally polluted world without opportunities to support our families.