Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Although our society always encourages young people to participate in the public affair, I don't think that young people have a great impact on the future of society. I agree with the statement and my reasons are listed as below.

First and for all, young people are usually poor. However, determining the future of society needs great wealth. For example, if a young man wants to express his idea about the energy policies of the country, all he can do is writing his idea to the newspaper. However, a large company can influence the policies by using their money and resources wisely. It can even change the government's decision by promising to make more investments. Thus, the young man seems no impact on the important decisions due to the lack of money.

Secondly, young people are usually busy on their own affair. As a result, they don't have time to devote in the important decisions of society. Take myself for example, I am a freshman that have graduated from school for 1 year. The most important thing for me is to find a job. Besides, I need to spend much time with friends to maintain our relationship. Thus, I don't have time to watch news and concern about the social affair. As a result, I think I have no influence on the future of society.

Last but not least, young people are lack of experience. It is hard for a young man to make a decision accurately without enough social experience. So nobody will consider young people's idea important.

To sum up, most young people are lack of money and social experience. Besides, they might care about their own life more. As a result, they have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society.