Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout history, the effect of young people on their society has been matter of dispute. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this issue is whether today, it is correct that they have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole. Some people possess the conviction that this statement is completely wrong whereas others hold exactly the opposite and allege that it is exactly the fact. I personally contend that young people have influence on the future of their society. The following paragraphs represent a cursory glance at the most outstanding reasons.

The first reason coming to mind to elucidate my standpoint is concerned with this issue that the advancement of technologies plays a paramount role in the decisions of countries. In other word, these technologies and its development have a considerable impact on the society and therefore, can affect the decisions of politicians, economists and people who are in authorities. By way of illustration, take cell phones. At the first time when the cell phones and their abilities were defined, the government of my country showed some opposition against that. After some time, by the pressure of society, notably the pressure of youth, they are forced to withdraw from their decisions.

The second rationale behind this opinion is rooted in the fact that it in undeniable that old people who are in authority, want to maintain their power and their decisive role. On the other hand, young people are more vibrant and energetic and also they have a host of ideas and plans. The history of societies has demonstrated that youth can conquer in this competition. Indeed, although old people who have power resist some changes, young people could wipe out this resistance and create their desirable future. But they have remembered that if they lose their hopes and creativity, they would be defeated in this rally. The have to be secluded and persistent in their decisions and actions.

In conclusion, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons, one soon realizes that not only youth have influence on the future of their societies, but also they can play a key role in the field of their expertise. However, they should be hopeful and vibrant and do not surrender among some undesirable happenings. These are the keys of prosperity.