Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout history, thinkers and intellectuals have accentuated on studying history and fate of different nations. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this issue is whether all university students should be required to take history courses or just students whose major is about history must know about it. Some people possess the conviction that all students have should be aware of historic events whereas others hold exactly the opposite and allege that it is not necessary. I personally contend that to be well-informed in realm of history could be absolutely fruitful and its merits overweigh demerits. The following paragraphs represent a cursory glance at the most outstanding reasons.

The first reason coming to mind to elucidate my standpoint is concerned with this issue that history of prior nations and countries is a mirror for future of recent countries. In fact, we can aptly choose our future by meticulously pondering the past societies. Had we not learned about the mysteries of triumph and defeat of them, we would be next defeated nation of this terrestrial world. The noteworthy statistics, revealed by a recent social research conducted in our country, show that in most of the advanced and developed countries, the study of history in schools for all students is crucial. On the other hand, in more than 70 percent of developing or poor countries this is not the case.

The second rationale behind this opinion is rooted in the fact that by thinking of the previous formidable events and built structures, we can get some ideas for the future of our country. To shed light on this issue, suppose the famous pyramids of Egypt. These overwhelming structures could be inspiring for architectures and civil engineers. Another example is a great wall in China. These structures are, in fact, the sign of ancestors' endeavors. We can learn lots of things from them by paying attention to them. In my opinion, these structures would be symbols of struggling in life and not yielding and surrendering against obstacles and problems.

In conclusion, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons, one soon realizes that history plays a pivotal role in our lives and today can depict the future of us. Consequently, it is recommended that schools consider this lesson as one of the most important lessons.