Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout history the dependence and independence of young people to their parents are in dispute. Some people prefer to has an authority and decides by themselves. On the other hand, some people rather depending on other people and especially parents. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this issue is whether in today's world people are more depended on their parents or are more independent. Some people possess the conviction that in the modern era people become more independent rather than the past whereas others hold exactly the opposite. I personally contend that human beings, notably young people, are considerably independent. To substantiate my point of view, the following paragraphs represent a cursory glance at the most outstanding reasons.

The first reason coming to mind to elucidate my standpoint is concerned with this issue that in the past post of the young people pursued the job which his father did. In the other words, the young people continued his family work and did not think and pay attention to other jobs. For example, if his father were a peasant he pursued farming. Furthermore, in the recent century, the rate of illiteracy declined significantly. This change displays that young people want to understand and experience more and novel issues and eventually, leads to a point that they do not permit other people to manipulate and control them. By way of illustration, nowadays, young people choose their future profession and do not continue their precedents job. Thus people would be more independent.

The second rationale behind this opinion is rooted in the fact that the rate of immigration has an increasing trend. In my view the rate of immigration has a direct correlation with the independence of people. If someone decide to immigrate to other countries, also cities, he wants to become more independent and be in authority in his or her life. The noteworthy and maybe undesirable statistics, revealed by a recent social research conducted in our country, show that more than 35 percent of youth inclined toward immigration and go to other countries. Another statistic has shown that more than 70 percent of rural population immigrate to urban areas in recent 20 years.

In brief, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons, one soon realizes that these days, young people tend to be more independent than in the past. In my view, this phenomenon not only is not an unpleasant event, but also could have desirable consequences in the future.