Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout history, sport and art have been one of the mainstay of every society and governments have been obliged to support them. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this issue is whether governments should spend more money in support of arts or athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Some people possess the conviction that the arts advantages overweigh the sports benefits whereas others hold exactly the opposite and allege that the latter is more fruitful. I personally contend that although sports play a key role in each society, supporting the arts would have more beneficial results. To substantiate my point of view, the following paragraphs represent a cursory glance at the most outstanding reasons.

The first reason coming to mind to elucidate my standpoint is concerned with this issue that from the psychological point of view, art is the sole of each society. Without art everything is died. Art can alleviate pains of hectic life and acquaint people with some virtues which they never sense anything like them. Government, by spending little money on street theaters, concerts and so on, can thrive the arts in a public. This support leads to the happier and more vibrant society and as a result, this can assist in a more dynamic and healthier society.

The second rationale behind this opinion is rooted in the fact that by supporting arts, Government can solve host of cultural problems. Indeed, the arts could have some various ethic virtues which help the prosperous of each country. To exemplify, take my personal experience as a real case. When I was 10 years old, I went to a theater. That theater was about demerits of lying and had a significant effect on me. I learnt that anytime anywhere, lying is an erroneous behavior and we have to avoid it. In addition to learn good breeding from arts, it can escalate our creativity and blossom some of our talents.

In conclusion, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons, one soon realizes that not only government should spend time and money on art, but also this work is one of the most important assignments of each government. On the other hand, government should not forget the importance of sports and its influence on the society.