Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Leadership comes naturally: one cannot learn to be a leader.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout history, there have been manifold leaders who have led their country or group toward the success and prosperity. But which features do leaders have to have? A controversial question which is often raised regarding this issue is whether the leadership is an innate ability or we can learn to be a leader. Some people possess the conviction that leadership is an intrinsic feature which few people have it whereas others hold exactly the opposite and allege that by some education all persons can be a leader. I personally contend that although there are some inherent features which can contribute to being a good leader, everybody can be a leader if he learns some skills. To substantiate my point of view, the following paragraphs represent a cursory glance at the most outstanding reasons.

The first reason coming to mind to elucidate my standpoint is concerned with this issue that from the psychological point of view, one of the most important features which a leader should learn is that he has to know how he can manage his group. In other words, he should manipulate the group's members and utilize their abilities and expertise. The ability to maximize the efficiency of workers plays a key role in prosperity of companies. The noteworthy statistics, revealed in a social research conducted in my country, shows that from the view of about 1000 managers and leaders, the ability of managing the group is of paramount importance and can pinpoint the fate of the group. Had the leader not had this feature, his group would not have been successful.

The second rationale behind this opinion is rooted in the fact that another feature which can be learned by all people and considerably is decisive for a leader, is that he would be resourceful. In fact, he must be knowledgeable. He should solve the problems which others cannot figure out. leaders can acquire this property only through studying different and various books, attending in some classes and experiencing tough situations. To shed light on this issue, take my personal experience as a real example. Three years ago, I worked in a project of building a 58 story tower. This project in many aspects was an unprecedented project. At first, a fairly young man was a manager of this project. He dealt with different problems. For instance, the engineers and labors were discontent with his approaches. Finally, the principal of the company decided to replace him with a more experienced and skilled manager. Thus, most of the problems were solved.

In conclusion, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons, one soon realizes that not only all people can be a leader, but also they can be a successful leader in overwhelming projects. However, we have to keep in our mind that the innate talent is not a disputable feature. If we have less inherent abilities, we should strive to learn knowledge and experience different circumstances to overcome our drawbacks.