Do you agree or disagree that people should sometimes do things they do not enjoy doing. Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

Carol Dweck, an american psychologist, has studied types of mindset. She categorized people as fixed-mindset or growth-mindset. Those with fixed mindset usually dislike challenges, which can harm them. Because they only enjoy doing what they already know, people with fixed mindset seem to be limited. People should do things they do not enjoy doing because it will help them get out of their comfort zone, and it will expose them to new learning experiences.

First, trying out different things helps people to avoid their comfort zones. Some people restrict their capacities to thing they believe they are great at, ignoring that they are able to perform well in other fields. For instance, one of my friend called Jenny used to think that she could not sing just because when she grew up, she only develop her dancing skills. However, at a students' party at my school, she was asked to dance, and she outperformed the other dancers. That day Jenny learned that she was able to dance well, for she tried to dance. Trying other hobbies is an effective in which people discover their aptitudes.

Second, things people do not enjoy can be an opportunity to learn. Most successful people succeed because they are opened to learn whenever the opportunity is present. Sticking on what one enjoys is detrimental to him or herself because it impedes the opportunity for growth. Doing things that we do not enjoy can create many opportunities in our lives. For example, a friend of mine called Mulengetsi disliked cars in the past. Nevertheless, he learned how to drive. Currently, he works as a chauffeur as he is in holiday. Being opened to try things that we fear is a helpful aspect in life.

In conclusion, trying new hobbies, passtimes or anyother activity benefits people. They discover their full potential, and they learn new skills. Jenny became aware of her ability to dance when she performed dancing in front of a big audience though she initially thought she could not be able. Mulengetsi's openess to learn to drive helped him find an occupation for his holidays.