Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The government should offer internet access to all of citizens at no cost.

With the era of Information approaching, the Internet is playing a more and more essential role during people’s life and work. A lot of social infrastructures cannot function normally without the Internet. The significance of the Internet brings about the question whether the government should offer internet access to all of citizens at no cost or not. Based on people’s own knowledge and experience, they give various kinds of opinions towards this question. Some of them think government should offer internet access to all citizens at no cost, with which the other people strongly disagree As far as I am concerned, the government should not offer internet access to all of citizens at no cost.

To begin with, the government should not offer internet access to all the citizens.

First of all, the Internet has a negative influence on the young teenagers. With the development of the Internet, various kinds of information spreads on the the Internet, which consists of pornographic and violent information. Lacking of mature knowledge and experience system, juvenile are easily affected by the information. Being addicted into the pornographic information, juvenile cannot focus their minds on the teachers anymore, which leads to a result that they miss all the important information the teachers lectured. With time passing, they accumulate a lot of problems, which leads to a result that they fail to pass exams. Meanwhile, violent information makes juvenile become aggressive. Assimilating so much violent information on the the Internet and they will mistakenly consider fighting a cool thing. When they have disagreement with their classmates, fighting against with other people will be their prime solution instead of a peaceful discussion. The unhealthy information severely affect juvenile’s development.

In addition, offering the Internet access to the aged will cause a waste of internet resource. The Internet is of complex operation system so that the aged do not know how to use the Internet correctly because of lacking the relevant knowledge. Also, they are reluctant to study the relevant skills to the Internet. Under such a situation, if the government still offers the Internet access to the aged, it is a great waste of the Internet resource.

On top of that, the government should not offer internet access to citizens at no cost.

For one thing, it will increase a country’s financial pressure. Usually, a country consists of millions people at least. Offering so many people internet access for free will take up a great part of a country’s financial expense. And also, offering internet access to citizens does not simply mean installing a internet device in citizens’ house. In order to keep the internet stable, government has to hire professional engineers to debug internet at intervals . When citizens’ internet devices break down, government needs to offer them a new one. All these services cost the government too much, which will increase a country’s financial pressure. Under such a situation, the government cannot squeeze plenty of finance to invest in a country’s infrastructures like transportation and medical system.

What’s more, there is no need for government to offer free internet access to citizens. With the rapid development of society, various kinds of occupations are available for people to choose. People’s personal wealth has been greatly enhanced with their hard working. They do have to competence to afford the internet fee. So, government should not offer free internet access to citizens.

Admittedly, offering internet access to all citizens at no cost brings people a lot of benefits. Firstly, it can have people save a lot of money, which could be used to improve people’s life quality. They could use this part of money to bur much nutritious food. Keeping a healthy diet, they will gain enough energy to carry out the whole day’s work and study. And also, they can use to money to offer their children a better education, which ensures their kids to enter into a famous college.

Although, offering internet access to all citizens at no cost brings people a lot of benefits. I consider it will cause much negative influence on government’s finance and the juvenile’s development. Therefore, I still hold the opinion that government should not offer all citizens internet access at no cost.