Do you agree or disagree with the statement: In order to succeed, it is better to be like others rather than be different from everybody else.

Success can be perceived and achieved in many different ways. Some people believe being different holds the key while others attribute success to finding common grounds. I’d go for the former view because success depends on knowledge, experience, and social circle.

First off, the acquisition of knowledge is a matter of individuality. The best problem–solving method varies from person to person. A strategy may work perfectly fine for one person but would turn out to be counterproductive for another. Take my roommate's for instance. He is usually spotted rushing from library to laboratory, from classroom to tennis court, burning the midnight oil to hit books before finals, and end up with straight A’s through every semester. Taking him as a role model, I started to follow suit. I signed up for various learning groups and it wasn’t long before I got more than I could handle on my plate and stretched myself too thin, eventually stressed out. It seems to be working around the clock may serve him well, but I’d suffer if I take it too far.

Second, there is no single way to succeed. When taking on a challenge, people who want to make a difference would think outside the box, trying out novel ideas and steering away from conventional routines. As Steve Jobs once put it, innovation distinguishes a leader and a follower. Being different and creative gives you what it takes to lead the tide. This gives them an edge to rise above the unpredictables. On the other hand, those who imitate and never bother to innovate are bound to be crowded out. For example, young people tend to go abroad to widen their horizons. They believe such experience can cultivate critical thinking and offer different perspectives, which are essential in opening up job prospects after graduation. So when you choose a path less traveled, you are more likely to stand out and outshine the ordinary.

Lastly, people who are different from each other stand a better chance of long-lasting relationships. Sure, most people believe birds of a feather flock together; people sharing much in common are supposed to get along. But let’s face it, if two hot-tempered friends get into a fight, chances are they’d end up yelling, cursing, or even calling names. Neither of them is willing to budge or meet halfway. If they stay mad at each other, the friendship would probably get stuck in a dead-end. But if you try to think differently and stand in your friend's shoes, you might handle the quarrel more properly. When people realize they are one of a kind, so is everybody else, they won’t force their own ideas on others and would think twice before offending people that are different from themselves.

To sum up, being different offers a unique way of learning, out–of–ordinary experience, and better interpersonal relationships, all of which contribute to a more successful life.