Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to read or watch news presented by people with different views than people by similar views.

In this modern day and age, thanks to the recent advancements in the information of technology and more specifically, the internet, we are just a few clicks away from access to a wide variety of news sources. A controversial question that may arise is whether individuals should get the news from people with different points of view or not. Though there is no definite answer to this question, I utterly subscribe to this idea that perhaps a moderate approach, a combination of both extremes, works the best. To discuss this, there are several perspectives, two of dominant which, are explained in detail in the following.

First and foremost, getting the news from resources whose points of view are the same as yours does not necessarily mean that you are getting the wrong information. It is possible that the source(s) that you get your information from might be moral and honest. When it gets to the news, the most important and decisive factor in rating that particular source is not their consensus or conflict with your perspectives but rather is their morality and honesty. To put it differently, the more honest a media is, the more likely it is to provide you with the most accurate and unmanipulated information. In addition, often times people like to be agreed with and this gives their minds a sense of relief. It has psychological roots and is beyond the scope of this essay but it is worth noting that in order for individuals to cultivate their sense of belonging to a community, they might intentionally expose themselves to people who fundamentally think the same as them and in my opinion, it is absolutely okay.

Furthermore, in order for people to raise their awareness of what is going on in their surroundings, and what are their oppositions' thinking patterns, it is immensely important to get the news from sources that might not view a certain condition like them. It can give them an upper hand, especially if they have connections to particular political parties in terms of reading their minds and ruin their plans. Because no matter how moral a media is, they are humans and are susceptible to making mistakes by letting their personal interests influence the way they present you the news. Recent research conducted at the Sharif University of Technology yields several statistics one of which states that more than thirty-five percent of the news presented by the most reliable source in Iran are inaccurate and misleading. This stresses the importance of hearing the news from opposition media.

To wrap it up, contemplating on what was discussed above, a moderate approach that considers getting the news from both the media that thinks the way you do and the ones that do not hold your viewpoints overall. This is because not only getting the news from the media that one might favor is psychologically beneficial, but also might in fact be true, and because, getting the news from sources individuals don't agree with might raise their awareness and broaden their horizon.