Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to read or watch news presented by people with different views than people by similar views.

Nowadays, despite the many disparities people have in a wide array of areas so far as one's opinion goes, one point that everybody agrees upon is the importance of being aware of the news. This is owing to the fact that news contributes to our daily activities and future decisions. That being said, even in this regard, different opinions might stir heated debates as to how we should opt between various news agencies. One particularly reoccurring idea brought up is that it is crucial to rely on news presented by different views. I personally find myself sympathetic to this notion. In what follows, the rationale for this thesis will be elaborated by focusing on 2 reasons.

First and foremost, it is easier to verify the authenticity of pieces of news when one collects the news from different sources. The news agencies are usually biased and rarely do they interpret an evident independently. Thus, in almost all the cases, either intentionally or unintentionally, they would mislead the audience by exaggerating some special aspects of a news. An example of what happened in Iran could aptly shed light on my claim. There are two major political parties in Iran: Reformists and Conservatives. More than 90% of news agencies such as newspapers, magazines, TV Channels, and news websites are financed by either conservatives or reformists. Last week, there was a rumor that the brother of the reformist president is accused of economic corruption. All the conservative agencies posted articles and interviews to prove his accusation while all the reformists were presenting documents to decline the claim. Having read the conservative's one reaches to the conclusion that president's brother is corrupted while by depending on the reformist's s/he would repudiate the claim. Then, In my opinion, only by relying on both sides which provide opposite points of views one could possibly hold an unbiased idea about what really happened.

Another equally important reason which deserves some words here is the fact that reading different views would enhance our information. Never does an agency could cover all the different aspects of a news. In today's sophisticated word, hardly could an event be explained based on one view. As a result, numerous experts should consider a news from different aspects and reveal their analysis to give us some insights about the real cause and possible outcomes of an event.By taking Global Warming as an instance I could aptly substantiate my point. Global Warming is of the heated issues that have become a matter of consideration for a wide variety of expertise e.g. sociology, law, ethics, politics, and economics to name but a few. Each of them might bring up a fact from their own perspective. For instance, a Law expert might consider international law treaties for controlling the problem, a development scientist might think that enforcing restrictive rules to control global warming could decrease the rate of industrialization, and so on. Thus, if one only follows the news from an agency whose experts are more inclined to consider legal aspects, s/he would neglect the other possible consideration. Otherwise, by searching through different sources their information would increase.

to recapitulate, all the reasons presented above bring us to the conclusion that it is better to read or watch the news which is presented by different views. This is due to reasons given, which are verification of news and enhancing one's information.