As a new teaching method, professors record a video (lecture) in advance for students to learn, and class time is used to answer questions, and have discussions. Do you think this is an effective way and why?

Teaching techniques have become so diverse that there are lots of psychological experiments trying to solve the mystery of

which method is more effective and to this day, there is no right answer to this debatable question, which is why professors all

have their own methods and they run a series of trial and error throughout their professional life in order to find the best one

for themselves. One of these methods that has gained a lot of attention is recording a video in which the course material is

explained and then the class time is used to have discussions about the topic. In my opinion, this is indeed a great method for

both students and professors.

First, let us view this from professors' point of view. Professors can record a video about a topic one time and use it for at least

two following semesters. They can actually use it until the material becomes outdated and needs an update which can vary

from topic to topic. This means they’ll save a huge amount of time by not repeating themselves over and over again. I think the

fact that they need to repeat the same material has quite a few downsides. One of them is that over time, professors become

exhausted and the quality of their lecture on the same topic decreases. I remember once I had to present a project of mine

to few different groups. By the time I was re-presenting it to the third group, I could feel I was neglecting a lot of points. I was

assured I did not present it as well as the first time the moment my audience started asking questions. It was obvious that I had

not conveyed the concept to them clearly. I think it’s only natural to expect this to happen to professors repeating the same topic

countless times. With this method, professors will record the lecture once with high quality and all students will have access

to the same quality. Also, because every semester there are new students in the class, discussions won’t ever become tedious for

the lecturer.

Second, I’m going to move to students' perspective on this method. Before explaining my reason, I think it’s worth

mentioning that for every person, there is a time throughout the day during which she is more productive than any other time.

With that in mind, when lectures are recorded, students can watch them in their most productive hours and this will boost up

their gain from each lecture. Also, each student has her own pace, not always consistent with the class' pace. When lectures

are recorded, students can pause them whenever they lag behind and resume them when they fully understand the part.

They can even watch a particular part a few times until they are comfortable moving forward. Another advantage of this method

is that when a student can’t attend the class for some reason, she won’t miss much. As for the class time that will be used for

questions and discussions, it will probably contain repeating some of the more challenging points of the lecture and

eliminating confusions on them, which will help students learn these points much better.

To conclude, I think recording the content of a lecture and using class time for discussions is a great method in which both

students and professors benefit. During COVID-19 pandemic, many professors have used this method for their online classes

and even though many other factors are included, I think the satisfying results of these online lectures using this method are

proof of the practicality and usefulness of this technique.