Do you agree or disagree that students should have a job when they are still studying at the university.

It goes without saying that acquiring knowledge at the university is very important because it makes one relevant in the society..While some people feel that students should have a side hustle at the time they are studying at the university, I personally believe that students shouldn’t engage in any form of job when they are still pursuing their career at the university.My decision is based on the following reasons, which I will develop in my body paragraphs.

One of the reasons why I think students should stay away from any side gigs  is that they tend to have less focus with their academic activities and this actually amounts to poor performance in the long run. To explain broadly,such students  will have limited time to study because all that will be running through their mind is the job.In fact , some even go as far as spending six hours working in a week and  consequently, they feel so tired, which automatically results in bad grades.For instance, when I was at the University of North Carolina,  one of my roommates works with starbucks so that she can pay her students loan. In the beginning, she was keeping up by studying what we were being taught at night.However, after some weeks ,she couldn’t cope anymore because she got exhausted once she returned.A week to our exams, she tried brushing up the course content for each course, but eventually she couldn’t finish them all and she eventually had an extra year.In contrast, I was able to graduate at that time since all I do was just studying.If she hadn’t  been working with starbucks, obviously, she wouldn’t have spent additional year at the University of North Carolina.For this reason, it is certainly clear to see why students shouldn’t be involved in any side job.

Another reason why I feel this way is that students who engage in side hustle while in school have less social life.To be more specific. They are unlikely to witness different events on campus such as freshers week, dinner party, commencements and many more.Also, this affects their interpersonal relationship with other students because they will always have difficulty relating with other students.Coming from my previous example, this roommate of mine never knew anything about campus life.Also, when other members of the room are talking about their social lives, she barely talk.This really affected her to the extent when she finally completed her program, she had difficulty interacting with people that could help her get a well paid job.

To sum up, I think students should avoid any form of job when they are still studying.