do you agree or disagree :- There are times when it is acceptable not to tell the truth

Famous phrase says that "Truth is God". I am agree with the statement says that there are times when it is acceptable not to tell the truth. I believe this for several reasons with I mention in following paragraphs.

Sometimes truth is bitter and not easily acceptable by people. For instance, During routine checkup doctor finds cancer to his patient. He doesn't tell directly about his cancer. He has to evaluate first patient mental strength and then decide to tell or not. He can give some rough idea that it can be cancer but we will figure it out in next session. Straight truth tellers sometimes create trouble for themselves. You can't tell you boss obese or bald even it is true, if you do so your job might be in trouble. We have to decide for telling truth or not depend upon condition and situation. Sometimes keep quiet is better than truth. In Mahabharata, the Indian epic, Dhronacharya (Pandava's teacher) main reason for death is not telling truth about his son's death news by Yudhistira (one of the Pandavas). Which is one of the turning point in Mahabharat war which brought victory for Pandavas.

Sometimes not telling truth makes us uncomfortable and guilty. By telling truth, we have not hide anything and so we feel free from inside. We not feel guilty for hiding contents. It is good for teller but sometimes not good for listener. In my opinion, we should not directly tell bitter unacceptable truth to superior and weak person, it is harmful for us in case of superior and them in case of weak people.

Hence, I think that sometimes bitter truth can be wrap with sweet lie so listening person can digest it. I am not favor the lie or false telling, but sometimes no answer is better than truth.