Do you give money to charitable organizations, do you prefer to choose how the donation will be used (donate money on food or service) or leave the decision to the organization?

Nobody can deny the role of charities in every society as they have always been a shelter for poor people who cannot satisfy their requirements easily. In this regard, some people believe that individuals who donate money to charity should select how that money will be used, while I have enough reasons to object to this point of view. I will enlarge on what I mean in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, charitable organizations have a considerable amount of classified information of people who cannot meet their families’ supplies, so they can make better decisions about how donations should be used. To put it in a more vivid picture, poor people often go to charities in order to let them know that they need help, and those organizations collect poor people’s information to allocate money to them in the future. As a result, they have access to a huge bank of data with which they can find deserve people easily. As a way of illustration, take Mahak. It is a charity in my country which bestow money to families with children who are suffering from cancer. The Mahak has collected a lot of information about those children from all around of my country. Thereby, it will be better if individuals leave the decision, how donations should be used, to the Mahak.

Secondly, charitable organizations can come to a better decision about how donations should be used as there are a number of experts in those organizations who can contemplate that subject from distinctive viewpoints; whereas, I cannot consider it from different points of view, also I cannot be objective since I am too close to the subject. As a result, it is more likely that I assign that amount of money to some things that are not appropriate. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter is profoundly influenced by own experience. Although the charity to which I donate some money told me that I should not allocate my money to a soccer team, I selected it in order to get that amount of money. It was due to the fact that I did not regard that matter from disparate aspects. After making that decision, I understood that it did not really need money, which made me so upset. Consequently, had I let the charity to make decisions about my donation, I would have been happier since they could perceive that subject from different views.

To sum up, all things considered, I firmly believe that people should let charities make the decision about how donations should be used. Given that, Not only, do they have access to a vast amount of information, but also they can consider it from different aspects, and they are more objective than individuals.