Do you prefer to take a course taught by a professor with whom you have not had classes before or a course taught by a professor whose class you have taken before? Give specific examples and details to support your answer.

It is critically important for students to take a wide variety of beneficial courses at university. I prefer to select the course which I know its instructor. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into two conspicuous reasons to elaborate on my standpoint.

To begin with, the more familiar a student is with the teaching style of his professor, the more productive he would be. When students have experienced taking a course with a professor, they are familiar with the methods he uses in his classroom. They are aware of how he teaches, how he brings up the questions in the assignments and the exam, and how he grades them. Thus, they have figured out the best studying style to absorb the course materials easier. Therefore, they can achieve high productivity in their studying.

Another equally significant point is that taking courses with a known professor helps students to achieve higher grades since the professor already knows them. The previous courses taken may have a major contribution to what the professor thinks about them. If they were outstanding students in those taken courses, the professor has a high opinion of them. As a result, they may make him biased and more willing to give them high grades again. My own experience is an example demonstrates this fact. Two semesters ago, I had my last course with my supervisor at university. In addition to supervising me in my master thesis, I had taken several courses with him during my undergraduate studies and he strongly considered me as a bright student. At the end of the semester, although I got sick on my final exam day and wasn't prepared well, I got a good grade.

To make a long story short, I firmly believe taking a course with a professor whom I had courses with is preferable. This familiarity not only makes me more efficient in that course but also helps me in obtaining a better mark.