Do you prefer to take a course taught by a professor with whom you have not had classes before, or a course taught by a professor whose class you have taken before?

Give specific examples and details to support your answer.

It comes with no doubt that all professors are not the same in their teaching method. That is why it is important to choose classes with professors who we can achieve higher scores from. However, some people prefer to take classes with new professors, I would ratter to take part in courses that I had a class with their professor, before. I believe in this for two reasons that I am going to explore in this essay.

To commence with, it is obvious that when we had a class with a professor in advance, we would have known his favorite students. Some professors care highly about participating in lecture classes, nevertheless, some others do not care about it. Knowing your professor, you can make better decisions. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I used to take part in 3 different archaeology classes of a professor. He would never take care of our presence or absence in classes, he just required complete homework and good mark in the final exam therefore, I had not taken part in any lecture sessions and got great marks. My fourth course happened to be with a new professor, who had the opposite attitude about class participating. Make the long story short, I failed that course due to not taking part in even a single session. That is the reason I do not like courses that I do not know the Professor who teaches it.

In addition, the experiences of a class we had in a professor’s exams, are unbelievably helpful in his or her other exams. Each professor usually considers unique parts of a lesson more important to be learned by students. As a result, if we take a class with a professor whom we had a class with before, we will more probably know how his exams are. Hence, we can get better grades. For instance, A friend of mine had a geography class with a professor for the first time. In the final exam he could not answer the questions, despite he had studied a lot. Four semesters later, he had another course with the same professor, moreover, he knew which parts are more important to study. Which caused him to answer all the questions in the final exam.

In conclusion I prefer to take courses with professors whom I had a class before because of knowing what they like about their students and because I would know how to study for their exams.