During our careers, we work with many different kinds of people. All of them have unique characteristics and personality traits. In your opinion, which of the following is the most important characteristic of a coworker?

a serious attitude regarding their work obligations

a willingness to learn new things

the ability to make other people laugh

People have different thoughts and opinions about the best type of personality at the workplace. While some people believe it is essential to have a serious attitude at the workplace. I beg to differ, I think having the ability to make other people laugh is the best trait.

Many people out there propose that being serious is crucial when it comes to work. They believe that it makes people more aware and responsible toward their job. In my opinion, I believe that the seriousness might scare people. In fact, It pushes people to execute their job wrongly, the pressure would make the person anxious and eventually lead to more mistakes. Last year, I remembered working with a big company in New York City, and the boss was a serious, arrogant, and obnoxious person. All of the staff used to fear him. And that added a lot of mistakes in the project. On the other hand, Now I work with a funny boss, he makes us laugh by telling funny jokes, he is such a humble person. Consequently, we all love him, and most of the staff perform their job correctly in a significant amount of time.

Moreover, the ability to make people laugh has a tremendous effect in creating a positive environment at the workplace. All the staff can get along together and enjoy working and achieving goals together.

Yet, other old school types of people may think that by laughing and being serious, the person can lose other people’s respect, so they prefer to apply the old fashion manners of the powerful boss towards his employees. In my opinion, this is a hundred percent wrong notion. Respect does not have to be formal. And my previous experience is a compelling example of this. If my boss had not been a funny and laidback person, I would not have been able to respect and love him.

In conclusion, the trait of being able to make other people laugh at work is critical to the work environment. I firmly believe that everyone at work should be friendly and funny in order to achieve a healthy relationship between colleges.