Essay topics:

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In history, humans always have looked forward to having a good job that satisfies them and gives them good money. However, the economic and social situations have changed and affected the job conditions. The controversial question that comes up here is whether, in the past, it was easier to identify what type of job would lead to a secure and bright future. Today, I firmly contend that it would be difficult to distinguish a career with a successful and promising future. In what follows, I will elaborate on my viewpoint.

First, everyday science will develop because scientists are making a breakthrough. They are working on some projects that people have never thought about it. Suddenly people notice that scientists have found something relevant to their jobs. Sometimes these discoveries come up to make their jobs easier. However, sometimes these discoveries cause them to lose their jobs. For example, I read in magazines that scientists are working on building robots by using artificial intelligence to replace humans. This development will jeopardize many jobs. Even they want to use medical robots instead of doctors. So, according to these scientific endeavours, it would be a little complicated to find out what will happen in the future.

Second, on one side, the knowledge and awareness of people have increased, so they value being educated and specialists. On the other side, people can access educational facilities easily. As a result, today, not only many people are educated, but also experts in their fields. So, the competition between those who are looking for an ideal and secure job has increased. Furthermore, even if you find a job, but if you don’t do it well, they can fire you and replace you with someone more expert. I remember one of my friends worked in a company. In this company, the only important thing was that you accomplish your project quickly. In this way, the company can do more projects that can benefit it more. But my friend’s father had got sick. Finally, they fired my friend for taking along time to finish his projects.

To wrap it up, today, having a dream job depends on a lot of factors that are out of our control and make having a hopeful future uncertain.